List of licensed warehouses and genreral merchandise licensing
Household Goods Warehouse Operator: Issued to an individual, corporation, partnership, or any other business association who controls, operates, or manages a building used for the storage or warehousing of household goods for compensation.
General Warehouse License: Issued to a corporation, company, or association that operates or manages buildings that are used for storage for compensation, who advertises for as being in the storage or warehouse business or as offering storage or warehouse facilities, or who accepts goods, wares, business or other records or merchandise for storage for compensation.
General Merchandise Warehouse License Application - Please contact the MDA at 651-201-6620.
A penalty amount not to exceed ten percent of the fees due may be imposed by the commissioner for each month the fees are late.
If you store household goods, a General Merchandise Storage Bond (PDF: 219 KB / 2 pages) in the amount of at least $10,000 (per city) must be issued and a tariff must be filed.
If you do not store household goods, $50,000 warehouseman's legal liability insurance may be filed in place of the General Merchandise Storage Bond. No tariff is required.
Filing a Claim A depositor claiming to be damaged by the breach of an agreement to store household goods must file a claim with the Minnesota Department of Agriculture within 180 days of the date of breach.
General Merchandise Proof of Claim (PDF: 65 KB / 1 page)
Form of Claim All claims must be in writing, must state the facts upon which the claim is based, must include any supporting evidence, and must be signed by the claimant. The supporting evidence may consist of, but is not limited to, a bill of lading, a warehouse receipt, a contract form, correspondence, or photographs.
Where to File All claims must be filed with the Minnesota Department of Agriculture, Fruit, Vegetable and Grain Unit.
General Merchandise Storage License