• facebook
  • twitter
  • YouTube
  • RSS feed
  • 651-201-6000
  • 800-967-2474
  • 711 TTY

NodeFire Save Document
Home > Renewable Energy > Biofuels Task Force

Biofuels Task Force

As directed by Minnesota Statute §239.7911, Subdivision 2(a) (Petroleum Replacement Promotion – Promotion of Renewable Liquid Fuels), the commissioner of agriculture, in consultation with the commissioners of commerce and the Pollution Control Agency has appointed members to the Biofuels Task Force to assist in eliminating barriers to the use of greater biofuels in the state, and assisting in:

  • developing recommendations for specific, cost-effective incentives necessary to expedite the use of greater biofuel blends in this state including, but not limited to, incentives for retailers to install equipment necessary to dispense renewable liquid fuels to the public;
  • expanding the renewable-fuel options available to Minnesota consumers by obtaining federal approval for the use of additional blends that contain a greater percentage of biofuel;
  • developing recommendations to ensure that motor vehicles and small engine equipment have access to an adequate supply of fuel;
  • working with the owners and operators of large corporate automotive fleets in the state to increase their use of renewable fuels;
  • working to maintain an affordable retail price for liquid fuels;
  • facilitating the production and use of advanced biofuels in this state; and
  • developing procedures for reporting the amount and type of biofuel under subdivision 1 and section 239.791, subdivision 1, paragraph (c).

Next Meeting

The next meeting of the task force is TBD.


The task force includes the following members. Their terms expire December 31, 2015.

Brian Kletscher, Highwater Ethanol LLC Renewable Fuels Industry 
Erik Osmon, Bushmills Ethanol, Inc.  Renewable Fuels Industry 
Lance Klett, Minnesota Service Station Association  Petroleum Retailers 
John Kasab, Ricardo, Inc. Automakers
Ryan Hayes, Arctic Cat Small Engine Manufacturers
Dustin Haaland, CHS Refiners 
Bruce Jones, Minnesota State University Mankato Research Organization
Tim Gerlach, Minnesota Corn Growers Association Grower’s Organization
Larry Johnson, LJ Consulting  At-large Member
Ralph Groschen At-large Member

Meeting Minutes and Handouts

Please direct all inquiries to Kevin Hennessy, 651-201-6223, Kevin.Hennessy@state.mn.us.

MDA Contact

Kevin Hennessy, Bioenergy Manager
Kevin.Hennessy@state.mn.us, 651-201-6223

Ag Marketing & Development Division