

## **Cottage Foods Exemption 2024 Summary**

## What is it?

The Minnesota Cottage Foods Exemption (MINN. STAT. 28A.152) from food licensing started in 2015. It built upon two prior exclusions from licensing for food sales at community events and farmers' markets: one for non-potentially hazardous foods (1996) and the other for certain home-processed and home-canned foods (2004). The Cottage Foods Exemption set sales limits and training requirements in tiers, expanded to allow sales from home, and added a producer registration.

A Cottage Food Producer registration allows individuals to make and sell non-potentially hazardous foods and canned goods (e.g., pickles, jams, baked goods) in Minnesota without needing a food license. Foods must either have a pH of 4.6 or lower or a water activity of 0.85 or less. In 2021, legislative changes added baked and dehydrated dog and cat treats as an allowed cottage food.

Cottage foods can be produced in a home kitchen and must be sold directly to the consumer from the individual's home, a farmers' market, or community event in Minnesota. Pet treats are the only cottage foods that can be shipped. Producers are limited to \$78,000 in cottage foods sales per calendar year.

Registration is required to become a cottage food producer, and individuals must complete training before applying. Training includes the types of food that can be sold, where sales can take place, and labeling requirements. There are two different registration tiers: Tier 1 and Tier 2. There is no charge for a Tier 1 registration (sales up to \$7,665 per year), and a \$50 fee for a Tier 2 registration (sales up to \$78,000 per year). The Tier 2 registration also requires completion of an advanced cottage food training through the University of Minnesota Extension.

## **2024 Statistics**

As illustrated in the graphs below, the number of registered Minnesota cottage food producers has continued to grow since the Cottage Food Law went into effect July 1, 2015. The total number of cottage food registrations the first year was 464. By the following year, registrations had tripled (1,524). Registrations have increased every year since, and in 2024 there were 10,853 registrations (6,274 recurring and 4,579 new). For each year between 2015 and 2024, the average yearly increase in percentage of new registrations was approximately 40%. The percentage of Tier 1 versus Tier 2 registrants each year has remained consistent, with Tier 2 registrants being approximately 4-6% of total cottage food registrations.

In accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, this information is available in alternative forms of communication upon request by calling 651-201-6000. TTY users can call the Minnesota Relay Service at 711. The MDA is an equal opportunity employer and provider.



